About District Disaster Management Authority (DDMA)

As Mandated by the Disaster Management Act 2005, the Government of Assam has adopted the Act with notification in the official Gazette in the month of December 2006.The State Government has established the Assam State Disaster Management Authority (ASDMA) chaired by the Honourable Chief Minister, Assam with Honourable Minister Revenue and Disaster Management as its Vice Chairperson. The Secretariat of ASDMA has become functional since 2009.As per the Disaster Management Act 2005, chapter IV clause 25, every district shall form the District Disaster Management Authority (DDMA) under the Chairmanship of the Deputy Commissioner and the Addl. Deputy Commissioner (Revenue and Disaster Management) as the Chief Executive Officer of DDMA. The Assam State Disaster Management Authority (ASDMA) has placed District Project Officers at every District HQs to carry out the activities of DDMA and ASDMA.

The District Disaster Management Authority (DDMA), Goalpara chaired by Deputy Commissioner Goalpara is the sole authority to exercise emergency power in issuing directives to all the departments and to provide emergency response services. The DDMA shall act as the district planning, coordinating and implementing body for disaster management. Along with the DDMA, different committee for addressing emergency issues are also being formed in the district.